G. Henle Verlag


Liszt: Valses oubliées

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Franz Liszt
  • Editor: Peter Jost
  • Fingering: Rolf Koenen
  • Introduction: Mária Eckhardt
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • Work: Valses oubliées, S. 215, LW A311
  • ISMN: 9790201809779
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 43
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


The "Valses oubliées" belong to Liszt's late work, characterised by themes such as memory, sorrow and grief. They do not form a cycle but were written as separate pieces between 1881 and 1884. The title "Forgotten Waltzes" alludes to the fact that certain forms and genres were no longer fashionable. These four pieces are reminiscent of Liszt's waltzes for piano from the 1830s, but embed typical melodic and rhythmic clichés from salon waltzes in new harmonic progressions. Up to now only the first of the "Valses oubliées" has found its way into concert repertoire.