• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Carl Fischer


    Liszt: Transcriptions of Lieder

    Expected to ship in 1-2 weeks.
    • Composer: Franz Liszt
    • Editor: Nicholas Hopkins
    • Instrumentation: Piano
    • Work Language: German
    • ISBN: 9781491153390
    • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches


    Compiled and edited by Nicholas Hopkins, this collection of Liszt's Transcriptions of Lieder by Franz Schubert, Robert Schumann, and Clara Schumann reveals a wealth of information about the interpretation and performance practices of the nineteenth century. Liszt was so successful in promoting the names of Schubert and Schumann through his transcriptions, that as the reputations and achievements of the composers grew more appreciated, performers and publishers gave more attention to the original works, causing these transcriptions to be lesser known. This compilation includes fifteen transcriptions of Franz Schubert's Lieder, including Erlkönig, Gretchen am Spinnrade, and Die Forelle, twelve of Robert Schumann's Lieder and three from Clara Schumann.