Editio Musica Budapest


Kurtág: 7 Bach Chorales (arr. for piano 4-hands)

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano 4-hands
  • Originally for: Organ
  • ISMN: 9790080147047
  • Size: 9.1 x 11.9 inches
  • Pages: 26


The present collection contains the composer's Bach transcriptions for piano four hands written since the publication of his volume of 'Transcriptions from Machaut to J. S. Bach'. These were originally composed for the Kurtágs, György and his wife Márta, for their own use, and they were often played, together with the 'Játékok' [Games] pieces, at the couple's piano four hands concerts.


  • Chorale Setting "Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland", BWV 599
  • Choral Setting "Herr Christ, der ein'ge Gottes Sohn", BWV 601
  • Chorale Setting "Aus tiefer Not schrei ich zu dir", BWV 687
  • Chorale Setting "Dies sind die heilgen zehn Gebot", BWV 635
  • Chorale Setting "Alle Menschen müssen sterben", BWV 643
  • Chorale Setting "Gott durch deine Güte", BWV 600
  • Chorale Setting "Das alte Jahr vergangen ist", BWV 614