• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Bärenreiter


    Janáček: String Quartet No. 1 ("Kreutzer Sonata")

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Leoš Janáček
    • Editors: Leoš Faltus, Milos Stedron
    • Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
    • Work: String Quartet No. 1 ("Kreutzer Sonata"), JW VII/8
    • ISMN: 9790260102965
    • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 44
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    In October 1923, the Czech Quartet invited Leos Janáček to compose something for them. This provided the stimulus for his first string quartet. The work was inspired by Tolstoy's Kreutzer Sonata (which he had written influenced by Beethovens famous violin sonata).

    Janáček had also read Tolstoy's story earlier in the original Russian and already at that time it had inspired him to compose a piano trio in 1907 which was later lost. Janáček's string quartet is a masterwork by the almost 70-year-old composer. The work sparked a creative impulse which continued with the composition of the second string quartet Intimate Letters in the last years of the composers life.