Janáček: Selected Piano Works

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Leoš Janáček
  • Editor: Ondrej Pivoda
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • ISMN: 9790260108585
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 42
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


This Urtext edition of Janácek's works includes lesser-known piano pieces and miniatures from his late years. They complete our picture of Janácek the piano composer, best known for the cycles "On an Overgrown Path" and "In the Mists". The late miniatures, entered in the album of Kamila Stösslová, reveal his compositional style at its most concise.The editor Ondrej Pivoda, the curator of the Moravian State Museum in Brno, has taken the autograph manuscripts as his principal sources while consulting other accessible sources, such as historical editions and copyist's manuscripts. This series of piano miniatures appears for the first time in a scholarly-critical edition.


  • Thema con variazioni (Zdeňčiny variace), JW VIII/6
  • Ej, danaj!, JW VIII/12
  • Celadenský (Dance from Celadná)
  • Pilky
  • Hudba ke kroužení kužely (Music for Club Swinging)
  • Klavírní drobnosti (Piano Miniatures)
  • Skladby z Lidových novin (Compositions from a Newspaper)
  • Z památníku pro Kamilu Stösslovou (From the Autograph Book for Kamila Stösslová)