• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Bärenreiter


    Janáček: 1. X. 1905

    Piano Sonata

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.


    Usually referred to as a sonata, 1. X. 1905 is Janáček's most significant piece for the piano.

    The work had a tumultuous history. It originally consisted of three movements inspired by the death of a Czech laborer shot by soldiers during a demonstration in Brno. Shortly after its première in 1906 Janáček destroyed the final movement and then, following a private performance in Prague, the other two movements as well. It was not until the celebrations for his 70th birthday that the pianist of the premiere found the courage to play the piece to the composer once again from her personal copy. Janáček then decided to publish the work after all.