• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • G. Henle Verlag


    J. C. Bach: Piano Sonatas, Op. 5

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Johann Christian Bach
    • Editor: Ernst-Günter Heinemann
    • Fingering: Hans-Martin Theopold
    • Instrumentation: Piano
    • ISMN: 9790201803326
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 56
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    Johann Christian Bach settled in London in 1762 after acquiring extensive experience in Italy. His Six Sonatas, Op. 5, are signposts towards the future classical piano sonata. Bach wrote them for the "Hammerflügel", which was still a very new instrument at that time; he esteemed the instrument and frequently performed on it in public. On his own London concert tour the young Mozart manifested his enthusiasm for the piano works of the so-called "London" Bach. He was so enchanted by them that he reworked Sonatas 2-4 into piano concertos, known today as, K. 107.