• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Edition Peters


    Iannotta: D'après for 7 Musicians

    This item is made to order and typically ships within 1-2 weeks.
    • Composer: Clara Iannotta
    • Format: Score & Set of Parts
    • Instrumentation: Cello, Piano, Violin, Clarinet, Flute, Viola, Percussion
    • Work: D'après
    • ISMN: 9790014126421
    • Pages: 124


    D 'après, for seven musicians, was written for and first performed by Talea Ensemble with Eduardo Leandro at Harvard University in August 2012. Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin gave the second performance and European première during the Ultraschall Festival in January 2013.

    " Repetition changes nothing in the object repeated, but does change something in the mind which contemplates it." — Deleuze on Hume's thesis.

    Memory, understood as repetition, is the thread that ties the triptych of works Glockengießerei (for cello and electronics), Clangs (for cello and 15 musicians) and D 'après (for 7 musicians), written between 2011 and 2012. Inspired by the sound of the bells of the cathedral of Freiburg im Breisgau (Germany),the three compositions are an attempt to recreate the experience of that listening — the waiting, the carillon, the silence.

    The crossing of different rhythmical carillons, consisting of complex sounds, generates figures and gestures that find their only resolution in repetition itself.