G. Henle Verlag


Haydn: String Quartets - Volume 8 (Op. 64 - Second Tost Quartets)

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Joseph Haydn
  • Editors: Georg Feder, Isidor Saslav, Warren Kirkendale
  • Introduction: Christin Heitmann
  • Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
  • ISMN: 9790201802121
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 144
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


The quartets were dedicated to the violinist Johann Tost, who was the second principal violinist at the Esterházy court during the 1780s. His business sense led him to sell twelve quartets - opus 64 was probably amongst them - to a Parisian publisher. Whether Haydn approved of this is open to question - the dedication was, however, no longer present in the second imprint or the following ones.