G. Henle Verlag


Haydn: String Quartets - Volume 4 (Op. 20 - Sun Quartets)

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Joseph Haydn
  • Editor: Georg Feder
  • Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
  • ISMN: 9790201802084
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 143
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Haydn did not assign the nickname "Sun Quartets": it alludes to an edition of the time, in which the title page was decorated with a rising sun. The Quartets, Op. 20 are the last series in a group of earlier string quartets, but are clearly ahead of their time. The demanding fugues which close three of the six quartets are a particular structural feature.