G. Henle Verlag


Haydn: String Quartets - Volume 2 (Op. 9)

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composer: Joseph Haydn
    2. Editor: Georg Feder
    3. Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
    4. ISMN: 979-020180206-0
    5. Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    6. Pages: 120
    7. Urtext / Critical Edition

    Six works belong to opus 9 – the first group of Haydn's string quartets of which we know. The composer also went new ways as far as form was concerned: whereas he had still adhered to the five movement divertimento in the previous quartets opus 1 and 2, in this case he favoured four movements, something he continued in the future. Apart from this, he also expanded the register and experimented with metric surprises (for instance in the trio of the minuet from the G major quartet).

  • Contains the following pieces:
    1. String Quartet in C Major, Op. 9, No. 1 Hob. III:19
    2. String Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 9, No. 2, Hob. III:20
    3. String Quartet in G Major, Op. 9, No. 3, Hob. III:21
    4. String Quartet in D Minor, Op. 9, No. 4, Hob. III:22
    5. String Quartet in B-flat Major, Op. 9, No. 5, Hob. III:23
    6. String Quartet in A Major, Op. 9, No. 6, Hob. III:24