G. Henle Verlag


Haydn: Concertante in B-flat Major, Hob. I:105

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Joseph Haydn
    • Editor: Sonja Gerlach
    • Piano reduction: Siegfried Petrenz
    • Instrumentation: Violin, Cello, Piano Reduction, Oboe, Bassoon
    • ISMN: 979-020180154-4
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 78
    • Urtext / Critical Edition

    "Sometimes the symphonies … are destined to showcase the musicians' talents" – a music dictionary of the time thus commented on a new genre, the "Symphonie concertante". The playful competition between the solo instruments proved very popular with the audience and sparked rivalry between the concert organizers in the music metropolis London: Ignaz Pleyel received a great deal of praise for one such "concertante" and only four weeks later Haydn achieved great fame for Hob. I:105.

    This edicition contains a piano reduction so that it can be played without orchestral accompaniment. The orchestral material is published by Bärenreiter.