G. Henle Verlag


Haydn: 6 Sonatas for Violin and Viola, Hob. VI:1-6

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Joseph Haydn
  • Editors: Andreas Friesenhagen, Ulrich Mazurowicz
  • Format: Score & Set of Parts
  • Instrumentation: Violin, Viola
  • ISMN: 9790201802169
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 98
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


The title "Solo per il Violino" which Haydn gave these sonatas in his "Entwurf-Katalog" (the handwritten catalogue he maintained of his own works), already gives us an indication: it is only the violin which is treated as a solo instrument in these six sonatas – the viola has an accompanying role. Haydn might have written these "soli" for himself; but they also might have been for Luigi Tomasini, the "first violinist" at Esterházy's court. Today, these duos enjoy great popularity, particularly for teaching purposes.


  • Sonata in F Major, Hob. VI:1
  • Sonata in A Major, Hob. VI:2
  • Sonata in B-flat Major, Hob. VI:3
  • Sonata in D Major, Hob. VI:4
  • Sonata in E-flat Major, Hob. VI:5
  • Sonata in C Major, Hob. VI:6