Handel: Complete Recorder Sonatas

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: George Frideric Handel
  • Editor: Terence Best
  • Instrumentation: Basso continuo, Harpsichord, Alto (Treble) Recorder, Recorder
  • ISMN: 9790006521920
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 96
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


The popularity of Handel's recorder sonatas can easily be gauged by the sheer number of old and modern publications of them. This edition unites the six authentic sonatas and also includes the early version of movement No. 6 to the in D Minor sonata. It is based on the eminently reliable text of the Halle Handel Edition, the "last word" in Handel scholarship.

The publication contains a thorough discussion of the history and genesis of the works and handy tips dealing with performance practice by the renowned Handel scholar Terence Best. in addition to the score, the edition has a solo recorder part and a bass part with figures.

A must publication for performers of Handel's beloved music for recorder.