G. Henle Verlag


Grieg: From Holberg's Time, Op. 40

Suite in the Old Style

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Edvard Grieg
  • Editors: Einar Steen-Nøkleberg, Ernst Herttrich
  • Fingering: Einar Steen-Nøkleberg
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • Work: Holberg Suite (Version for Piano), Op. 40
  • ISMN: 9790201804323
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 21
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


The Holberg Suite , Op. 40, more properly "From Holberg's Time" (Norwegian: Fr å Holbergs tid, German: Aus Holbergs Zeit ), subtitled "Suite in Olden Style" (Norwegian: Suite i gammel stil , German: Suite im alten Stil ), is a suite of five movements based on eighteenth century dance forms, written by Edvard Grieg in 1884 to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the birth of Danish-Norwegian humanist playwright Ludvig Holberg.

The Holberg Suite was originally composed for the piano, but a year later was adapted by Grieg himself for string orchestra. The suite consists of an introduction and a set of dances. It is an early essay in neo-classicism, an attempt to echo as much as was known in Grieg's time of the music of Holberg's era.