• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • M. P. Belaieff


    Gretchaninov: Piano Trio No. 2 in G Major, Op. 128

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Alexander Gretchaninov
    • Format: Set of Parts
    • Instrumentation: Piano Trio (Piano, Violin, Cello)
    • Work: Piano Trio No. 2 in G Major, Op. 128
    • ISMN: 9790203005070
    • Size: 9.1 x 11.9 inches
    • Pages: 60


    Grechaninov (1864-1956), mostly known for his piano pieces, songs and operas for children, had his first successes within the circle of the St. Petersburg publisher and patron M. P. Belaieff who awarded him the special award for his String Quartet No. 1 in 1894. "Personal, yet distinctly Russian – sometimes cheerful and festive, sometimes contemplative and eloquent" – this is how the mood of his music is generally described. Piano Trio No. 2, on the other hand, composed in 1930 during a particularly pleasant stay in California, is characterized by an extraordinary effortlessness and playfulness. Its character is sometimes song-like and dance-like, sometimes grotesque and humorous, sometimes childlike and innocent, yet always with a Russian folk touch.