Glazunov: Alto Saxophone Concerto in E-flat Major, Op. 109

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Alexander Glazunov
  • Editors: Regina Back, Douglas Woodfull-Harris
  • Piano reduction: Martin Schelhaas
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Alto Saxophone
  • Originally for: Orchestra, Alto Saxophone
  • Work: Alto Saxophone Concerto in E-flat Major, Op. 109
  • ISMN: 9790006533510
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 44
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


The Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Orchestra is Alexander Glazunov's last work; since its first performance in 1934 it has become part of the standard saxophone repertoire. The sole surviving autograph manuscript is the hand-written dedication score given by Glazunov to Sigurd Raschèr (Raschèr was the founder and leader of the well-known and innovative Raschèr Saxophone Quartet).

This score contains the original version of the work without the alterations which were made in the proofs to the orchestral score as well as the full version of the composers cadenza which was later shortened. The autograph manuscript also contains some performance markings by Raschèr.

The correspondence between Raschèr and Glazunov documents the composer's thoughts on the work and his recommendations about the size of the accompanying string orchestra. Evidence from this correspondence has been integrated into this edition.

The solo part includes both the complete and the shortened version of the cadenza as well as a cadenza by Raschèr which the composer authorized.