G. Henle Verlag


French Violin Music of the Baroque Era - Volume 1

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composers: Jean-Joseph de Mondonville, Jacques Aubert, Jean-Baptiste Senallié, Jean-Marie Leclair, Étienne Mangean, Pierre Miroglio, François Duval
    2. Editor: Gisela Meyn-Beckmann
    3. Fingering: Ernő Sebestyén
    4. Figured bass realization: Siegfried Petrenz
    5. Instrumentation: Violin, Piano
    6. ISMN: 979-020180352-4
    7. Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    8. Pages: 114
    9. Urtext / Critical Edition

    Two lots of seven violin sonatas from the heyday of the 18th century French Violin School: Whoever plays these sonatas (with basso continuo), will go on a voyage of discovery to a musical continent that is today mainly visited by specialists. But it is worth it! All of these sonatas appeared in much sought after publications of the time and were played across Europe. The editor of both of these Urtext editions, Gisela Meyn-Beckmann, is a renowned connoisseur of the repertoire and has ensured that there is a great deal of variety. The artistic consultant and violinist Ernő Sebéstyen, who provided the fingerings and bowings for the solo part, provides valuable, individual suggestions for performing them.

  • Contains the following pieces:
    1. Senallié: Violin Sonata in G Minor, Liv. V, No. 9
    2. Aubert: Violin Sonata in G Major, Liv. V, No. 4
    3. Duval: Violin Sonata in B Minor (Amusemens pour la Chambre), Liv. VI, No. 4
    4. Mondonville: Violin Sonata in A Minor, Op. 1, No. 6
    5. Miroglio: Violin Sonata in F Major, Op. 1, No. 5
    6. Mangean: Violin Sonata in E Minor, Op. 4, No. 2
    7. Leclair: Violin Sonata in G Major, Liv. IV, No. 7