Franck: Violin Sonata in A Major

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: César Franck
  • Instrumentation: Piano, Violin
  • ISMN: 9790500571964
  • Size: 9.1 x 11.9 inches
  • Pages: 76
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Franck's sonata is among the most famous works of chamber music of all time. The edition by Wiener Urtext Edition is based on the first edition that incorporated Franck's final improvements. The indications in the violin part which differ from the piano score go back to Eugène Ysaye, to whom Franck dedicated the piece on the occasion of the former's wedding. This arrangement, probably authorised by Franck, is published in an Urtext edition for the first time. Günter Ludwig's preface reminds us to handle this "highlight" of chamber music with special consideration and reserve.