Franck: Complete Works for Organ and Hamonium - Volume 1 (Early Organ Works / Fragments)

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: César Franck
  • Editor: Christiane Strucken-Paland
  • Instrumentation: Organ
  • ISMN: 9790006538997
  • Size: 9.1 x 11.8 inches
  • Pages: 80
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Bärenreiter has joined forces with the International César Franck Society to produce a five-volume complete edition of the organ works of César Franck. in addition to all accessible sources, it draws on previously neglected manuscripts, making it possible to offer a reliable musical text based on meticulous text-critical comparisons. Text variants, cases of doubt and editorial decisions are recorded in a comprehensive Critical Commentary.

Volume 1, edited by Christiane Strucken-Paland, is the first publication to contain all of Franck's surviving early organ works, fragments and variants. Special attention has been given to his largest early work, the Fantasy in A major, which was left unpublished during his lifetime and only resurfaced a few years ago. Here Franck already displays his consummate mastery of thematic development.


  • Piece in E-flat Major (1849), CFF 49
  • Piece (Fantasie) in A Major (1854), CFF 51
  • Andantino (1856 / 57), CFF 54a/b
  • Piece (Fantasie) in C Major (1856), CFF 53a
  • Piece in E-flat Major [Fragment] (1854), CFF 50
  • Prière [Fragment] (1854), CFF 52