Bärenreiter Praha


Fišer: Piano Sonata No. 8

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Luboš Fišer
    • Instrumentation: Piano
    • ISMN: 979-026010425-9
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 6

    Piano Sonata No. 8 was written in 1995 as one of the last works by Luboš Fišer. The piece indicates a clear leaning towards the simplification of his musical expression. The sharp contrasts of the individual parts are noticeably diminished which, in turn, lessens the dramatic charge. The reduction in dramatic effect is also brought about by the composer's decision to spread the mode over nine notes out of the twelve, which gives him greater scope to develop the melody and, instead of short little ostinato motifs, he uses broad, sweeping lyrical melodies. The consistency of musical expression and the almost child-like simplicity of the melody in Fišer's compositions from the 1990s are reminiscent of his film music.