Dvořák: Violin Concerto in A Minor, Op. 53

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Antonín Dvořák
  • Editor: Iacopo Cividini
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Violin
  • Originally for: Violin, Orchestra
  • ISMN: 979-026010768-7
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 59
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Dvořák's Violin Concerto was composed between 1879 and 1882, with the active assistance of Joseph Joachim, and was issued by the publisher Fritz Simrock in 1883. Its premiere took place in October of that same year with František Ondrícek as soloist.

This Urtext edition is based on the first edition (score, solo violin part, piano reduction and orchestral parts). It also takes Dvořák's autograph which served as a master copy for the engraving into consideration. A fresh assessment of Dvořák's manuscript made it possible to reconstruct several variants ignored in the first and subsequent editions and to clarify ambiguities in the notation and articulation.

An important component of this Urtext edition is the original piano reduction, which probably stems from Dvořák's himself, and in which Joseph Joachim's fingering is published.

This edition replaces the older H1005.