• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Bärenreiter


    Dvořák: String Quintet in E-flat Major, Op. 97

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Antonín Dvořák
    • Editor: František Bartoš
    • Introduction: David Beveridge
    • Instrumentation: String Quintet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola I, Viola II, Cello)
    • Work: String Quintet No. 3 in E-flat Major ("American"), B. 180, Op. 97
    • ISMN: 9790260105683
    • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 69


    The String Quintet in E-flat Major, Op. 97 (with two violas) is the third work Dvořák composed during his stay in America.

    This quintet may be said in three of its movements to show the influence of American life and American music upon the composer wrote the American music critic Henry Krehbiel on January 7th, 1894. The use of particular melodic and rhythmic elements in his American compositions, as typically found in Afro-American gospels, strengthened the gathering conception considering Dvořák to be the founder of an American national style of music.

    This edition replaces the older H1738.