Bärenreiter Praha


Dvořák: String Quartet No. 9 in D Minor, Op. 34

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composer: Antonín Dvořák
    2. Format: Set of Parts
    3. Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
    4. ISMN: 979-026010608-6
    5. Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    6. Urtext / Critical Edition

    This work is, without a doubt, one of the most intimate testimonies of its composer, whose music speaks of the shock caused by the loss of two children. Although the second movement contains glimpses of folk revelry, as a whole it remains melancholic and wistfully meditative. The virtues of the work are most clearly shown by the fact that the composer did not hesitate to dedicate the piece to Johannes Brahms in gratitude for his patronage and recommendation for a state stipend.