Bärenreiter Praha


Dvořák: String Quartet No. 7 in A Minor, Op. 16

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Antonín Dvořák
  • Format: Set of Parts
  • Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
  • Work: String Quartet No. 7 in A Minor, B. 45, Op. 16
  • ISMN: 9790260106055
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Quartet Op. 16 (written in 1874) is the first chamber work from a period in the composer's creative development in which he gradually extricated himself from the influence of German Neo-romanticism and began to work towards a more simplified and compact form and towards his own distinctive expression. Quartet No. 7 is a testimony of the composer's successful attempts at purity of form, clarity and flawless treatment. This work has a special position in Dvořák's chamber œ uvre: it was the first of his chamber pieces to come out in print.