Dvořák: String Quartet No. 5 in F Minor, Op. 9

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Antonín Dvořák
  • Editors: Jarmil Burghauser, Antonín Cubr
  • Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
  • Work: String Quartet No. 5 in F Minor, B. 37, Op. 9
  • ISMN: 9790260105706
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 61


Dvořák's String Quartet No. 5 in F Minor of 1873 represents, musically speaking, a fundamental re-orientation of the composer. It has nothing that reminds one of his excessive admiration for the music of Wagner and Liszt. Instead, Dvořák re-establishes contact with the classical string quartet tradition.

The autograph score, once in the possession of Dvořák's heirs, is no longer accessible. This edition is based on the posthumously printed edition of 1929.