• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Bärenreiter


    Dvořák: String Quartet No. 1 in A Major, Op. 2

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Antonín Dvořák
    • Editors: Jarmil Burghauser, Antonín Cubr
    • Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
    • Work: String Quartet No. 1 in A Major, B. 8, Op. 2
    • ISMN: 9790260105560
    • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches


    Dvořák was only twenty years old when he wrote his String Quartet No. 1 in A Major, Op. 2 (1862). The work is considered to be the composer's second important work, after the String Quintet in A Minor, Op. 1. Dvořák did not return to working on Op. 2 until 1887, when he was revising his early works. He deleted sections from this substantial quartet sparing only the Scherzo; the other movements where all cut by up to a third. The work was finally premiered by orchestral musicians from the National Theatre, but a printed edition was not published until the middle of the 20th century.

    This edition replaces the older H7625.