G. Henle Verlag


Dvořák: Romance in F Minor, Op. 11

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Antonín Dvořák
  • Editor: Till Kordt-Dauner
  • Piano reduction: Johannes Umbreit
  • Fingering: Antje Weithaas
  • Format: Solo Part with Piano Reduction
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Violin
  • Originally for: Violin, Orchestra
  • Work: Romance in F Minor, B. 39, Op. 11
  • ISMN: 9790201813509
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 27
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


1873 was a turning point for Dvořák. Precipitated by the rejection of his opera "The King and the Charcoal Burner", he tried to give his compositions a new direction. His String Quartet in F Minor, Op. 9, which he completed that same year, was supposed to mark the beginning of a new style that was less orientated towards Wagner. However, much to his disappointment, it was rejected by musicians. Notwithstanding this painful experience Dvořák gave the slow movement of the quartet a second chance, reworking it as a Romance for Violin and Orchestra or piano. It was first performed in 1877 to great acclaim.