Dvořák: Piano Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 87

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composer: Antonín Dvořák
    2. Editor: Antonín Pokorný
    3. Instrumentation: Piano Quartet (Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello)
    4. ISMN: 979-026010553-9
    5. Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
    6. Pages: 120
    7. Urtext / Critical Edition

    Towards the end of the 19th century the piano quartet was established as a separate sophisticated chamber music genre. It is therefore not surprising that the publisher Fritz Simrock asked Dvořák for a further contribution to the genre.

    The second Piano Quartet in E-flat major op. 87 was composed in the summer of 1889 during a torrent of creativity: "My head is so full, if a human being could only write it all down straight away! [...] It is unexpectedly easy and the melodies simply flow towards me. Thanks be to God!" These words could describe the quartet itself, a work with characteristic carefree tone and clear nationalistic colouring. The primary source for this publication was the first edition from 1890.

    _This edition replaces the older H1756_.