• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Bärenreiter


    Dvořák: Humoresque in G-flat Major, Op. 101, No. 7

    Expected to ship in about a week.


    Dvořák's Humoresques were meant to follow up on his earlier Scottish Dances, Op. 41 of 1877 to form a series of New Scottish Dances, as the cycle was originally titled. Though written down over a few summer days in August 1894, these piano pieces are the result of a long period of gestation.

    The gradual refinement of the musical material can be observed in the genesis of the most popular and most frequently arranged piece in the entire cycle, the in G-flat Major Humoresque (no. 7). The surviving draft, from the American Sketchbook, formed the basis of the initial version of the opening sixteen bars, but it completely lacks the later musical elaboration and characteristic appoggiatura rhythm.