Alphonse Leduc


Dupré: Passion Symphony, Op. 23

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Marcel Dupré
    • Instrumentation: Organ
    • ISMN: 979-004616921-2
    • Size: 9 x 12.0 inches
    • Pages: 41

    French organist and composer, Marcel Dupré (1886-1971) is also remembered as a significant pedagogue. However, his prominence within the organ repertoire remains absolute with sublime works, including his _Passion Symphony_. Dupré studied at the Paris Conservatoire with Louis Vierne and Charles-Marie Widor, where he won prizes for piano, organ and fugue, as well as the Grand Prix de Rome. He was a famous organ virtuoso and was able to perform the entire works composed for the instrument by J. S. Bach from memory. Dupré's _Op. 23, the Passion Symphony for Organ_ is made up of four movements depicting the life of Christ; 1) The World awaiting the Saviour, 2) Nativity, 3) Crucifixion, and 4) Resurrection. All of the movements display a high degree of virtuosic technique and musical integrity. Dupré's compositions and didactic works remain important to organists today and his _Passion Symphony_ is no exception.