Stainer & Bell


Dowland: The First Book of Ayres (1597, 1600, 1603, 1606, 1613)

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: John Dowland
  • Editor: Edmund H. Fellowes
  • Instrumentation: Voice, Lute
  • Work Language: English
  • ISMN: 9790220205712
  • Size: 8.7 x 11.0 inches


Revised by Thurston Dart with lute tablature.


All ye whom love or fortune (D – D) Awake, sweet love, thou art return'd (E – F) Away with those self-loving lads (D – E) Burst forth my tears (D – D) Can she excuse my wrongs (D – D) Come again sweet love doth now invite (D – E) Come away, come sweet love (F-sharp – F) Come heavy sleep (E – E) Dear if you change (D – E) Go crystal tears (G – E-flat) His golden locks (F-sharp- D) If my complaints (F-sharp – F) My Lord Chamberlain, his Galliard (lute) My thoughts are wing'd with hopes (G – G) Now o now I needs must part (E – E) Rest awhile you cruel cares (D – G) Sleep wayward thoughts (G – E) Think'st thou then by thy feigning (D – D) Unquiet thoughts (F-sharp- E-flat) Whoever thinks or hopes of love (F – G) Wilt thou unkind thus reave me (E – E) Would my conceit (C – E)