• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • G. Henle Verlag


    C.P.E. Bach: Gamba Sonatas, Wq. 88, 136, 137 (version for viola)

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach
    • Editors: Wolfram Enßlin, Ernst-Günter Heinemann
    • Instrumentation (this edition): Basso continuo, Viola
    • Originally for: Basso continuo, Viola da gamba
    • ISMN: 9790201809908
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 91
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    Like his father, Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach wrote three sonatas for viola da gamba. They were written during his time at the Berlin court of Frederick the Great and gave the excellent viola da gamba player in the court orchestra an opportunity to show his virtuosic ability. While the two Sonatas Wq. 136 and 137 have a basso continuo, Bach followed his father's example as far as the Sonata in G Minor, Wq. 88 was concerned: the right and left hands of the harpsichord compete with the solo instrument in three equal parts.

    The original register of the viola da gamba part also permits a version for viola, a practice that has been verified in the sources of the time. Therefore this edition contains both the viola da gamba and viola versions as well as a basso continuo and realized harpsichord part.