• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • G. Henle Verlag


    C.P.E. Bach: Gamba Sonatas, Wq. 88, 136, 137 (version for cello)

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach
    • Editor: Wolfram Enlin
    • Figured bass realization: Wolfgang Kostujak
    • Instrumentation (this edition): Cello, Basso continuo
    • Originally for: Basso continuo, Viola da gamba
    • ISMN: 9790201809915
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 107
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    Like his father, Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach wrote three sonatas for viola da gamba. They were written during his time at the Berlin court of Frederick the Great and gave the excellent viola da gamba player in the court orchestra a chance to show his virtuosic skills. While the two Sonatas Wq. 136 and 137 have a basso continuo, Bach followed his father's example as far as the Sonata in g Minor Wq. 88 was concerned: the right and left hands of the harpsichord compete with the solo instrument in three equal parts. These sonatas can also be played very effectively on the cello; the fingerings in the marked copies provide helpful suggestions.

    This edition contains both marked and unmarked string parts.