• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Breitkopf & Härtel


    C.P.E. Bach: 4 Flute Sonatas - Volume 1 (Wq. 83 & 84)

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach
    • Editors: Gerhard Braun, Siegfried Petrenz
    • Instrumentation: Flute, Harpsichord
    • ISMN: 9790004177693
    • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
    • Pages: 64
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    These Sonatas for flute and harpsichord obbligato (Wq. 83-86) were written in Potsdam between 1745 and 1755, while C. P. E. Bach was in the service of King Frederick II of Prussia. The sonatas also exist in genuine trio Sonata versions. in this edition, the right hand of the harpsichordist takes over one of the concertante parts. Only when this part rests does the harpsichord fulfill the function of a thoroughbass.

    This edition was based an the autograph and an copies by Westphal, a friend of the composer. The score reproduces the Urtext, thus maintaining the characteristic features of C. P. E. Bach's writing. The articulation suggestions added by the editor in the flute part has been distinguished by broken lines.