• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Bärenreiter


    Corelli: Violin Sonatas, Op. 5 - Volume 1

    Nos. 1-6

    Expected to ship in about a week.
    • Composer: Arcangelo Corelli
    • Editors: Christopher Hogwood, Ryan Mark
    • Instrumentation: Violin, Basso continuo
    • ISMN: 9790006535118
    • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 180
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    Arcangelo Corelli, the violin virtuoso of his time, published his Sonatas for Violin and Basso continuo, Op. 5 in Rome in 1700. These sonatas are a compendium of violin playing of his time and laid the groundwork for future violin compositions.

    Over the years, the sonatas have been published in nearly 100 editions, all based on Corelli's first edition which contains only the solo violin line above an unrealized bass line. Today, the sonatas are well known in numerous modern continuo realizations. However a realization from Corellis time by Antonio Tonelli also exists and is presented here. This realization is surprising in that it contains full chords, sometimes played by both hands.