• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Edition Peters


    Cage: Piano Music Arranged for Guitar

    Expected to ship in 1-2 weeks.
    • Composer: John Cage
    • Arranger: Aaron Larget-Caplan
    • Instrumentation (this edition): Guitar
    • Originally for: Piano
    • ISMN: 9790300759852


    Piano Music Arranged for Guitar features five early and mid-career compositions by John Cage, dating from 1933 through 1948, all arranged for solo guitar by Aaron Larget-Caplan. The compositions required little adjustment from the originals, mainly in the form of register modifications, and fit very well on the guitar. All phrase and dynamic markings follow the published originals. Very few left and right hand fingerings are included in the publication to allow the performers their own realizations. All of the works retain their original keys and are presented in chronological order.

    Cage's exploration of contrapuntal music and simple forms are found early on in works for two voices and the use of unusual phrases lengths. The later works explore modes, resonance, and begin to show influences of Far East aesthetics in their spaciousness and dealings with time.

    The collection is only the second work in the Cage Oeuvre to be published featuring the guitar, the first being Larget-Caplan's arrangement of ‘Six Melodies' for violin & guitar issued in 2015.