Edition Peters


Cage: Music of Changes - Volume 1

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: John Cage
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • Work: Music of Changes
  • ISMN: 9790300710761
  • Size: 9.1 x 11.9 inches
  • Pages: 9


Music of Changes is a piece for solo piano by John Cage. Composed in 1951 for pianist and friend David Tudor, it was a ground-breaking piece of indeterminate music. The process of composition involved applying decisions made using the I Ching, a Chinese classic text that is commonly used as a divination system. The I Ching was applied to large charts of sounds, durations, dynamics, tempo and densities.