Breitkopf & Härtel


C. Schumann: Piano Sonata in G Minor

This item typically ships in 1-2 weeks.
    1. Composer: Clara Schumann
    2. Editor: Gerd Nauhaus
    3. Instrumentation: Piano
    4. ISMN: 979-000418191-1
    5. Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
    6. Pages: 36
    7. Urtext / Critical Edition

    Clara Schumann wrote her Piano Sonata in G Minor in 1841-42. The work was not performed during the composers lifetime, however, and remained neglected until it was first published in 1991. Clara Schumann borrowed the Scherzo a few years after writing the piece when she integrated it into the Quatre Pièces fugitives op. 15. Nevertheless, as a whole, the sonata marks an important step in her compositional development between her two other larger-scale works, the Piano Concerto in A minor op. 7 and the Piano Trio in G minor op. 17.