• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Bärenreiter


    Brahms: Violin Sonata in G Major, Op. 78

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.


    We know today that Johannes Brahms wrote at least three sonatas for violin and piano before he composed his Sonata in G Major, Op. 78. However these earlier works did not survive the test of the composer's critical scrutiny. Op. 78 developed alongside the Violin Concerto, Op. 77 in the summers of 1878 and 1879. Clara Schumann was delighted by Brahms‘ citations from his own "Regenlied" and "Nachklang" (op. 59, nos. 3 and 4). Brahms conceived these figurations in melody and accompaniment to evocate raindrops. Even though the work was first received by Brahms‘ contemporaries with mixed enthusiasm, it quickly found its place in the standard violin repertoire.