• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • G. Henle Verlag


    Brahms: Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 77

    Complete Edition, Series I - Volume 9

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Johannes Brahms
    • Editors: Linda Correll Roesner, Michael Struck
    • Piano reduction: Johannes Umbreit
    • Fingering: Frank Peter Zimmermann
    • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Violin
    • Originally for: Violin, Orchestra
    • Work: Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 77
    • ISMN: 9790201808185
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 113
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    Brahms' only violin concerto was given a very warm reception by his contemporaries and has been an important piece in the violin repertoire ever since. It bears witness to Brahms' fruitful collaboration with Joseph Joachim, who contributed a cadenza.The composer's original and extremely demanding piano reduction has been carefully simplified for our edition by Johannes Umbreit. The appendix also contains an alternative version of Joachim's cadenza that to date has not been published in a practical edition. Alongside Joachim's original fingerings and bowings there are also fingering suggestions by Frank Peter Zimmermann.

    The edition contains both marked and unmarked string parts.