• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Bärenreiter


    Brahms: Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 77

    Expected to ship in about a week.
    • Composer: Johannes Brahms
    • Editor: Clive Brown
    • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Violin
    • Originally for: Violin, Orchestra
    • Work: Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 77
    • ISMN: 9790006526161
    • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 101
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    Johannes Brahms's violin concerto, written for his friend Joseph Joachim, has remained a standard in the concert literature since its first performance. No. scholarly critical edition of this work has ever been published and therefore the many, sometimes conflicting, sources have never been evaluated for a critical performing edition. Not only Brahms's autograph score, solo part and autograph piano reduction but also his personal copies of the first edition score as well as the first edition orchestral parts have all been consulted.

    In addition the piano reduction includes a separate part with not only the well known Joachim cadenza but also those by C. Halir , H. Heermann, L. Auer, and F. Busoni.