• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • G. Henle Verlag


    Brahms: Piano Trios

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Johannes Brahms
    • Editor: Ernst Herttrich
    • Instrumentation: Piano Trio (Piano, Violin, Cello)
    • ISMN: 9790201802459
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 299
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    Piano trios belong among the great genres of Classical chamber music, and Brahms, too, turned his attention to this genre early on. He wrote his opus 8 in fall and winter 1853/54, thus at the age of 20. The two other piano trios were created 28 years later, namely, Op. 87 in C Major, and 32 years later, Op. 101 in c Minor. Brahms was working on another Trio, in E-flat Major, at the same time that he was working on the C Major Trio; however, it seems to have been destroyed. He returned to his first piano trio in 1889 and revised it so thoroughly that he wrote to Clara Schumann: "I have re-written my B Major trio." The Henle Urtext edition reproduces the second version of the Trio, Op. 8 (published in 1891) first, then follows this up with a reprint of the first version in its Appendix.