• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • G. Henle Verlag


    Brahms: Piano Quartet No. 2 in A Major, Op. 26

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Johannes Brahms
    • Editor: Hanspeter Krellmann
    • Format: Set of Parts
    • Instrumentation: Piano Quartet (Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello)
    • Work: Piano Quartet No. 2 in A Major, Op. 26
    • ISMN: 9790201802756
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 118
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    As with the in g Minor Quartet, Op. 25, the origins of opus 26 reach back into the 1850s. However, it assumed its final shape only in summer and fall 1861. While in her first evaluation of the work Clara Schumann felt that the piece would "grow on the listener once he knows it perfectly and has often heard it," Brahms' friend Joseph Joachim wrote to him after a hasty perusal that he had "grown more and more favourable towards the A Major Quartet. The tone of great intimacy and delicacy alternates beautifully with a fresh love of life." with its use of a "brighter" key, opus 26 is clearly the more accessible of the two adjacent piano quartets.