• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Bärenreiter


    Brahms: Horn Trio, Op. 40

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Johannes Brahms
    • Editor: Christopher Hogwood
    • Format: Set of Parts
    • Instrumentation: Piano, Violin, Horn
    • Work: Horn Trio in E-flat Major, Op. 40
    • ISMN: 9790006541096
    • Size: 10.0 x 12.8 inches
    • Pages: 98
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    Brahms' famous Horn Trio, Op. 40, composed in 1865 for the natural horn, is a work of considerable significance within the composers output. Up until now, the work was believed to have a strong emotional connection to the death of his mother three months earlier. We now learn that Brahms wrote at least the trio movement some twelve years earlier in 1853 and that it was originally intended for solo piano. This piano movement is printed in the appendix.

    This edition offers not only the standard instrumentation of violin, horn and piano but also the alternative scoring for cello or viola instead of horn. The variants found in the cello and viola parts are shown as ossias in the score.