• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • G. Henle Verlag


    Brahms: Fantasies, Op. 116

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Johannes Brahms
    • Editor: Katrin Eich
    • Fingering: Andreas Boyde
    • Instrumentation: Piano
    • Work: 7 Fantasies, Op. 116
    • ISMN: 9790201812168
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 29
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    Johannes Brahms presumably wrote the Fantasies, Op. 116 at the same time as the Intermezzi, Op. 117 in the summer of 1892 in Bad Ischl. His sojourn in the Salzkammergut obviously inspired Brahms to write music for solo piano, as a year later he worked on other cycles when he was there. Amongst these late melancholy piano pieces, Op. 116 is in particular characterised by opposites. Four "dreamy" – according to Clara Schumann – intermezzi are juxtaposed with three "deeply passionate" capricci. Seven pieces in true Brahms' style, which are also accessible to non-virtuosos due to their medium level of difficulty.

    This edition replaces the older HN120.