Berlioz: Rêverie et caprice (Romance)

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composer: Hector Berlioz
    2. Editor: Hugh Macdonald
    3. Instrumentation: Violin, Piano Reduction
    4. ISMN: 979-000652119-7
    5. Size: 9.1 x 11.8 inches
    6. Pages: 13
    7. Urtext / Critical Edition

    Berlioz's only work for solo violin and orchestra, the Rêverie et caprice was first performed in a concert in Paris on February 1, 1842. Berlioz decided to arrange the original and published two new versions - one with orchestra and one with piano. The solo part is slightly different between the two versions. Interestingly, though the piece was dedicated to the Belgian violinst Alexandre-Joseph Artôt, he never played it! However, the likes of Ernst, David, Joachim and Wieniawski performed it.