• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • G. Henle Verlag


    Berg: Violin Concerto

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Alban Berg
    • Editor: Michael Kube
    • Fingering: Frank Peter Zimmermann
    • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Violin
    • Originally for: Violin, Orchestra
    • Work: Violin Concerto
    • ISMN: 9790201808215
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 99
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    The genesis of Berg's Violin Concerto in 1935 is shrouded in tragedy. He had only just finished making the first sketches when Manon Gropius – the daughter of Walter Gropius and Alma Mahler, with whom Berg was friends – died of polio. He dedicated the concerto "To the memory of an angel" in her memory. Then Alban Berg died in 1935, so he no longer lived to see it printed or performed.

    Includes both marked and unmarked string parts. Orchestral material is available from Breitkopf & Härtel.