Beethoven: String Quartets, Op. 59

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
  • Editor: Jonathan Del Mar
  • Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
  • ISMN: 9790006535187
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 158
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Some of Beethovens most enduring and unabashedly successful works stem from his so-called Middle Period and in the genre of chamber music the three, Op. 59 quartets are an excellent example.

Jonathan Del Mar's scholarly critical edition of these quartets sets the record straight once and for all, restoring Beethovens articulation, dynamics and lengths of slurs just as the composer originally intended. The inter dependency of the sources and their readings are clearly laid out by Del Mar in his Critical Commentary, which also contains facsimiles pointing out ambiguities with previous editions.