Beethoven: Piano Sonatas, Op. 2

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
    • Editor: Jonathan Del Mar
    • Instrumentation: Piano
    • ISMN: 979-000656193-3
    • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 93
    • Urtext / Critical Edition

    The frequently played Sonatas, Op. 2, stem from the time when the Beethoven composer took lessons from Joseph Haydn in Vienna and are dedicated to his teacher. After Beethoven's three early sonatas which he wrote as a youth in Bonn, the so-called "Kurfürsten-Sonatan", Beethoven started 10 years later, in the mid 1790s, to develop a style independent from the legacy of Mozart and Haydn and presented with his Op. 2 his first fully valid piano sonatas.